What countries have a dictatorship government?


Cuba, Syria and North Korea are three countries that have a dictatorship government. As of 2014, 23 countries around the world have a dictatorship type of government in one form or another.

Some of the countries listed are ruled by more than one form of government. This is especially true of countries that have different ruling bodies in various regions. Although the country may not be ruled completely by a dictatorship, some of the states or specific regions are. Countries ruled by dictators have a long history of instability and poor social control.

  1. Belarus
  2. Cameroon
  3. Chad
  4. China
  5. Cuba
  6. Egypt
  7. Equatorial Guinea
  8. Eritrea
  9. Ethiopia
  10. Iran
  11. Kazakhstan
  12. Libya
  13. Madagascar
  14. Myanmar
  15. North Korea
  16. Rwanda
  17. Sudan
  18. Syria
  19. Tunisia
  20. Turkmenistan
  21. Uzbekistan
  22. Vietnam
  23. Zimbabwe

Dictatorships date back to the times of Julius Caesar. There have been many rulers throughout history who are famous for ruling with an iron fist. Saddam Hussein, former president of Iraq, is one such dictator.


  1. ranker.com

Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    What countries still have a dictatorship?


    As of 2014, Belarus and North Korea are ruled by dictatorships, according to the international statistics website Nation Master. The Polity IV project, which measures relative democracy levels based on political science statistics, found that these two countries, along with 15 others, had almost entirely autocratic forms of government.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some countries with unlimited government?


    North Korea and Iran are two countries with unlimited government. The American government classifies North Korea as a one-man dictatorship and Iran as a theocratic republic. Both forms of government give essentially all government power to one person with little or no limitations.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What countries have a totalitarian government today?


    North Korea is one of the clearest examples of a totalitarian government operating as of 2014. Other countries with dictatorships and authoritarian rule, such as Cuba, Syria, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan and Belarus, could also be considered totalitarian governments.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What countries have a planned economy?


    North Korea, Cuba and Zimbabwe are countries that have planned economies, as of October 2014. The largest country to have a planned economy was the Soviet Union. A planned economy, or a command economy, involves near-total government control of industries, commerce, manufacturing, output and economic activity. A large portion of a country's gross domestic product comes from government programs in a planned economy.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under: