Q:

What is criminal mischief in Texas?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the law offices of Richard C. McConathy in Dallas, Texas, criminal mischief crimes typically consist of property damage, including destruction, vandalism, defacement, graffiti and arson. While the common belief is that criminal mischief is a minor offense, criminal mischief sometimes puts other people in danger or interferes with public utilities. In Texas, individuals who commit criminal mischief are charged with misdemeanors or felonies depending on the severity of the crime.

 Know More

Full Answer

Texas attorney Matt Horak explains that criminal mischief occurs when an individual intentionally damages or destroys property, tampers with property, causes a loss or inconvenience to the property owner, or creates markings of some kind on an owner's property. Criminal mischief in Texas is punishable as a misdemeanor or as a lesser felony that carries the potential for jail time of up to ten years. The punishment sought depends on the specifics of the crime.

According to the law office of Penny Wymyczak-White in Houston, Texas, the majority of criminal mischief incidents are charged as misdemeanors, but if more than $1,500 worth of damage occurs, it is possible that felony charges are levied. Types of property damage that are categorized as criminal mischief include breaking windows, keying windows, destroying school property and defacing another person's house with spray paint. Individuals who damage their own property cannot be convicted of criminal mischief.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the laws in Texas involving drug paraphernalia?

    A:

    Possessing drug paraphernalia in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor, and selling or delivering drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor, as of 2015. A person caught possessing or selling drug paraphernalia faces up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine, depending on the circumstances.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas?

    A:

    As of 2014, the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas is a sentence of two to 20 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000, according to FindLaw. Burglary of a habitation is a felony of the second degree, the most serious classification of burglary.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How long does a Class B misdemeanor for theft less than $500 stay on your record in Texas?

    A:

    According to the Peveto Law office, a Class B misdemeanor conviction in Texas stays on a person's record forever. If a misdemeanor charge is eligible for deferred adjudication, a charge reduction or pretrial diversion, it is possible to have it cleared from the record through expungement or non-disclosure.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is criminal mischief in the third degree?

    A:

    Although there are minor variations from state to state, criminal mischief in the third degree is the least serious criminal offense related to property damage. The severity of the crime increases based on the cost incurred. For example, in New York State, property damage exceeding $250 is defined as criminal mischief in the third degree, while damage exceeding $1,500 is defined as a second degree crime.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore