A license is not required for operating a legal daycare in Virginia. Daycares in Virginia may be based out of a home or a center, with or without a license. However, daycares in Virginia must be regulated, or approved by local rather than state agencies.
Daycares licensed in the state of Virginia must meet the standards of the State Board of Social Services, which are enforced by the Virginia Department of Social Services through scheduled and unscheduled inspections. Regulations for licensure cover such issues as immunizations and physicals for children, tuberculosis screening for employees, and the physical and mental health of staff and volunteers, as well as attendance records and parent agreements. Licensing dictates the level of education, credentials and experience needed by the director of the daycare, who must be over the age of 21. Program leaders must have a combination of experience and training, including classes in child development and playground safety. Daycare aides must be at least 16 years of age. Anyone in the daycare who administers medication to children must complete a training program approved by the Board of Nursing. In order to obtain the state license, all employees and volunteers must pass a criminal background check.
Because of its lax licensing requirements for daycares, Virginia is at the bottom of a national ranking by Child Care Aware, a national child care information resource.Learn More
While some researchers had thought that the divorce rate began to drop in 1980, improved statistical analysis shows that the Baby Boomer generation was --and remains -- more likely to divorce than the next generations. The reasons for this stem from younger people waiting to marry, notes the Washington Post.Full Answer >
A quitclaim deed is a legal transfer of real estate ownership, usually between family members, explains Nolo. A quitclaim deed records the names of the parties, the owner or the grantor and the receiver or grantee, gives a legal description of the property being deeded and is signed by the current owner of the property. A quitclaim deed removes any interest in the property that an owner may have.Full Answer >
According to the University of Iowa course catalog for a media law and ethics class from the School of Journalism & Mass Communication, media law and ethics is an area of study and research that focuses on the interaction and relationship between the legal rights and freedoms of the media and the professional responsibilities of media professionals. The emergence of cyberspace for human communication and relationships has major implications for this field.Full Answer >
A person who receives divorce papers has 20 days to file an "answer," which is a statement that informs the court about his decision regarding the divorce, according to LawHelp.org. He must answer as to whether he agrees with the divorce complaint and whether he agrees with what his spouse asks the court to do.Full Answer >