Q:

How far must you park from a driveway?

A:

Regulations governing how close to a driveway vehicles may be parked vary by region. Cities that regulate parking near a driveway often set the minimum distance at 5 feet.

As of 2014, some cities, such as Philadelphia, do not set a minimum distance between parked cars and driveways; parking tickets are written for vehicles that park directly in front of driveways. Seattle bans parking in front of driveways and within 5 feet of driveways; property owners may use yellow paint to help drivers identify the restricted parking area. Minneapolis also employs the 5-foot rule, which applies regardless of whether signs are posted. Some jurisdictions, such as Fairfax County, Va., employ the more stringent standard of a 10-foot clearance on either side of a driveway.


Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    How many inches from the curb should you park?

    A:

    While parking laws vary from city to city, most state that drivers must park within 12 inches of the curb with both tires parallel to the curb when parking on the street. Failure to do so often results in a citation, especially in areas that are heavily patrolled.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How close can you park to a fire hydrant?

    A:

    Although rules vary according to the municipality, in most places drivers must park a minimum of 15 feet away from either side of the fire hydrant or face a penalty. A parked vehicle owned by the fire department and clearly marked may be parked nearer to a fire hydrant.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How close can you park to a stop sign?

    A:

    Many state and city laws prohibit parking within 30 feet of stop signs, such as in the law detailed by the Ohio Revised Code Laws and Rules. A similar law can be found in the Michigan Vehicle Code, which applies the same standard to traffic-control signal and flashing stop signs.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How many feet can you park from an intersection?

    A:

    The number of feet a driver must park away from an intersection varies depending on state and local laws. For example, the City of St. Paul, Minn., states that drivers must park at least 30 feet from an intersection with a stop sign or stop light.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore