Q:

How far must you park from a stop sign?

A:

Quick Answer

The distance required by law between a parked car and a stop sign varies depending on the location. As of 2014, several U.S. cities require 30 feet between a parked car and a stop sign.

 Know More

Full Answer

The state of New Jersey and the city of San Diego require 50 feet. An intersection with a traffic signal is often treated the same as a stop sign in terms of how close a driver can park. Standard parking distance from a crosswalk is usually 20 to 25 feet, while the required distance from a fire hydrant is usually 10 feet. The section of the curb near a fire hydrant or stop sign is often painted red to warn drivers that it is illegal to park there.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How do you get a car from an impound lot?

    A:

    The steps to get a car out of impound depend on the location. The Louisville Police Department states that it is necessary to pay the impound fees and present required identification or other documents. The only other way is with a court order to lift the impound.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    When does McDonald's stop serving breakfast?

    A:

    The time that McDonald's stops serving breakfast varies by location. In general, most of the independently owned fast food restaurants stop serving breakfast at 10:30 a.m.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the fine for running a stop sign?

    A:

    The fines for running stop signs vary by state, according to NOLO's DrivingLaws website. Fines are typically at least $100, although in some states, such as Idaho and Kentucky, fines for running a stop sign or red light may be as low as $10, going up to a maximum of $150 in Idaho and $100 in Kentucky.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you beat a stop-sign ticket?

    A:

    Good defenses for contesting a stop sign ticket are showing that the stop sign is obscured from sight or proving the vehicle came to a complete stop further back, advises Nolo. Most state laws specify several conditions that must be met to find someone guilty of running a stop sign.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore