Q:

What is a "Felony 5" in Ohio?

A:

Quick Answer

A fifth-degree felony in Ohio is a crime that, if convicted, carries a prison term of between six and 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500. Crimes that are considered class 5s in Ohio include illegal gambling, breaking and entering, and the exchange or possession of illegal items.

Know More
What is a "Felony 5" in Ohio?
Credit: MIKE SIMONS AFP Getty Images

Full Answer

There are five classes of felonies in Ohio. A fifth-degree felony is the lowest of the five. For some extremely severe crimes, like murder, there is no felony classification because such crimes are not limited to specific prison terms. First-degree felonies are crimes like rape, kidnapping and voluntary manslaughter. These are considered the most extreme types of felonies in Ohio and carry prison terms between three and 11 years and a possible fine of up to $20,000. A second-degree felony includes crimes such as manufacturing explosives or prostitution with a known positive HIV test. Prison terms for a second-degree felony range from two to eight years. They may also carry a fine of up to $15,000. Third-degree felony crimes include robbery and reckless homicide. The prison term can be nine months up to five years and includes a fine of up to $10,000. A fourth-degree felony has a prison term of six to 18 months and a fine of up to $5,000. Automobile theft, sex with a minor and safecracking are all considered fourth-degree felonies in Ohio.


Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    What is a fourth degree felony in Ohio?

    A:

    Several criminal offences are considered fourth degree felonies in Ohio, including grand theft of a motor vehicle, safe-cracking, unlawful sexual conduct with a minor, aggravated assault and certain other types of theft. According to the revised Ohio Criminal Codes, fourth degree felonies are punishable by 6 to 18 months in prison and up to a $5,000 fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a third degree felony in Texas?

    A:

    A third degree felony is a crime that carries a penalty of 2 to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. Some examples of third degree felonies in Texas include possession of 5 to 50 pounds of marijuana and a drive-by shooting with no injury.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class 6 felony in Virginia?

    A:

    A Class 6 felony in Virginia is a crime that meets the criteria for the "felony" category with the least of authorized punishments associated with it. Class 6 felony crimes in the state of Virginia include reckless endangerment and violation of a court order.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first-degree misdemeanor in Ohio?

    A:

    A first-degree misdemeanor in Ohio is regarded as the most serious offense, such as petty theft, driving under suspension, assault, making false reports of child abuse and domestic violence. A person of any age who commits a first-degree misdemeanor is eligible for punishment by the law. These convictions can leave a permanent record that can be accessed by the public.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore