In Florida, citizens can file a civil suit by submitting a petition or complaint with the county court, states the Florida Bar. The petition usually includes the allegations and the facts that give the complainant the legal right to sue.Know More
In addition, the petition includes the complainants request for relief, notes the Florida Bar. Relief may be monetary compensation or an action that the complainant wants the other party to take.
Complainants may pick up the petition forms from their local county clerk's office. Courts also charge a filing fee that varies based on the county and type of case. Check with the county court for any additional documentation needed. For example, according to the Escambia County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller in Florida, complainants in this county must bring three copies of any documentation or evidence such as contracts, receipts or promissory notes.Learn more in Law
A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.Full Answer >
Landlords in Florida can raise the rent as much as they desire, according to the Law Offices of Stephen K. Hachey, P.A. There are no state or city ordinances that control the amount of rent that a landlord can charge a tenant.Full Answer >
According to the Florida State Department of Law Enforcement, a first degree misdemeanor in Florida is a crime that is considered less serious than a felony but more serious than a second degree misdemeanor. Some examples of first degree misdemeanors in the state of Florida include resisting arrest, animal cruelty, possession of cannabis and some types of theft.Full Answer >
Servals are legal in Florida, Mississippi, Tennessee and Texas. The big cats require a class II wildlife permit while Texas allows servals with a license called a certificate of registration. Mississippi and Tennessee allow servals with no special restrictions.Full Answer >