A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.Know More
The defendant may also be asked to pay restitution to the victim as the court may order. In Florida, offenses are usually sentenced with regard to a score sheet known as the criminal punishment code of Florida. The Florida legislature assigns a numerical value to a felony, based on a certain ranking system. A higher ranking indicates more points on the score sheet. If the score is more than 44 points, a minimum imprisonment sentence is administered. If the score goes below the 44 points, it is not mandatory that a judge gives a prison sentence, but he may do so if he wishes.
The most common possible consequences of the first-degree felony are loss of civil rights, ineligibility in obtaining state licenses, ineligibility to holding public office, ineligibility for state or federal aid, and inability to get hired or even rent an apartment.Learn more about Law
As of 2015, Florida Legal Services, Inc. is a good location for help in finding pro bono or low cost lawyers in Florida. This is a nonprofit organization that was founded in 1973.Full Answer >
Landlords in Florida can raise the rent as much as they desire, according to the Law Offices of Stephen K. Hachey, P.A. There are no state or city ordinances that control the amount of rent that a landlord can charge a tenant.Full Answer >
There are several requirements to be hired as a teacher in Florida, including possessing an accredited four-year bachelor's degree and completing an approved teacher training program. The state also requires all applicants to obtain a certificate through the Florida Bureau of Educator Certification.Full Answer >
According to Sullo and Sullo Attorneys at Law, first-degree felonies are serious crimes in the state of Texas that are second only to capital felonies in terms of severity. Those convicted of first-degree felonies are likely to receive harsh punishments, including expensive fines, lengthy probation periods and considerable amounts of prison time.Full Answer >