According to Sullo and Sullo Attorneys at Law, first-degree felonies are serious crimes in the state of Texas that are second only to capital felonies in terms of severity. Those convicted of first-degree felonies are likely to receive harsh punishments, including expensive fines, lengthy probation periods and considerable amounts of prison time.Know More
Examples of first-degree felonies in Texas include aggravated robbery, aggravated assault of a public servant, aggravated kidnapping and aggravated sexual assault. Further, the law firm of Sullo and Sullo states that burglary of an inhabited building with the intent to commit a felony, arson of a dwelling, causing serious bodily injury to a child, senior or disabled person, escape from custody with serious bodily injury, murder, solicitation of capital murder and trafficking of children under 14 years of age are also first-degree felonies in Texas.
Texas state law grants judges broad latitude with sentencing those convicted of first-degree felonies. Often, the defendant’s criminal history and the circumstances surrounding the crime are taken into consideration. The firm of Sullo and Sullo explains that defendants who are sentenced to 10 years or less in prison are sometimes permitted to serve their sentences on probation or under community supervision. Defendants without prior criminal histories are more likely to avoid jail time.Learn more about Law
As of 2014, wages can be garnished in the state of Texas, but only under certain circumstances, according to Nolo. Wage garnishment is limited to child support, alimony, taxes and student loans.Full Answer >
The best resource to use to find a specialized attorney in the state of Texas is the State Bar of Texas Lawyer Referral and Information Services department. This is a free service provided by the state of Texas to assist residents who need legal representation or legal information.Full Answer >
The Texas statute on felony theft includes first, second and third degree felonies and state jail felonies. The type and value of stolen property determines the crime's classification, and such cases are under jurisdiction of the district court.Full Answer >
A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.Full Answer >