A first-degree misdemeanor in Ohio is regarded as the most serious offense, such as petty theft, driving under suspension, assault, making false reports of child abuse and domestic violence. A person of any age who commits a first-degree misdemeanor is eligible for punishment by the law. These convictions can leave a permanent record that can be accessed by the public.Know More
In Ohio, misdemeanors are classified into five classes, including first, second, third and fourth degree. The last class is the minor misdemeanors, which are only punished through fines. First-degree misdemeanors have a jail term up to 180 days and a fine of up to $1,000. A person can avoid a jail term in lieu of other penalties, such as license suspension, counseling or community service.
Drug and driving under the influence charges in Ohio have a mandatory minimum sentence provisions. Drug-related offenders in Ohio receive a mandatory license suspension for 6 months to 3 years regardless of whether the car was involved in the case. A person who is driving under a suspended license gets a jail sentence while repeat offenders may be compelled to submit a vehicle forfeiture.
Not all cases are eligible for expungement. If a first-degree offender was 18 years of age at the time of the offense, he or she can qualify for expungement. Domestic violence offenses can also be considered for expungement.Learn more about Crime
A fifth-degree felony in Ohio is a crime that, if convicted, carries a prison term of between six and 12 months and/or a fine of up to $2,500. Crimes that are considered class 5s in Ohio include illegal gambling, breaking and entering, and the exchange or possession of illegal items.Full Answer >
As of 2014, the penalty for criminal trespass in Ohio is a jail sentence of up to 30 days and a possible fine of $250. Aggravated criminal trespass carries a jail sentence of up to 60 days and a possible fine of $500.Full Answer >
A Class X felony is the most serious offense in Illinois and includes aggravated arson, armed robbery, home invasion and aggravated kidnapping. A person found guilty of a Class X felony cannot be sentenced to probation and jail time is mandatory.Full Answer >
Many criminal offenses can deny a person entry into the United States, including murder, rape, child abuse, aggravated assault or multiple misdemeanor convictions, states the U.S. Customs and Border Patrol. Entrance is denied for any drug-related conviction.Full Answer >