As of July 2014, Florida enforces child support arrears in many ways, including contempt of court, placement of liens on an obligor's property and suspension of a driver's license, according to Karen A. Howe, Esq., of Brandon Family Law Center. There is no statute of limitations on collecting arrears with regards to child support enforcement procedures. Interest on arrears accrues if child support is not paid on time.Know More
Other actions can be taken against someone who does not pay child support in Florida. Howe explains state agencies can seize bank accounts, suspend passports and pass judgments against obligors. Collecting arrears can continue even after death, as an estate can be sold to pay for those obligations.
Florida law stipulates visitation must continue per a court's order even if child support is not being paid. Visitation and child support enforcement are seen as two separate issues in Florida, according to the Men's Rights Law Firm in Fort Myers, Fla. If a parent refuses visitation, child support continues to be paid until the court changes the original order.
As of July 2014, the Florida Legislature provides a chart for child support payments. Someone with a net income of $800 and one child pays $190 in monthly child support, whereas a parent with net income of $100,000 with one child owes $1,437 per month.Learn more about Child Support & Custody
Non-custodial parents in the state of Texas may be obligated to monthly, court-ordered payments. The amount of support is dependent on the income of the parent and number of children under 18 in the order, minus any deductions for medical support paid.Full Answer >
According to Kentucky law, there is not a minimum amount of child support. Instead, the income of both parents and the number of children determines the amount of child support the non-custodial parent pays, explains Legal Aid Network of Kentucky.Full Answer >
New York State law states that parents are responsible for supporting their child until he turns 21, states the New York Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance. Each child is entitled to emotional and financial support from both parents.Full Answer >
As of 2015, New York state law stipulates that the percentage of a non-custodial parent's income for child support is 17 for one child, according to NYC Department of Social Services. The support is determined based on net income, minus tax, Medicare and FICA deductions.Full Answer >