Q:

What is fourth-degree theft?

A:

Quick Answer

Theft in the fourth degree is a serious misdemeanor in most states and does not carry a minimum sentence for first-time offenders. What constitutes fourth-degree theft differs from state to state, but it is typically based on a range of value for property taken that falls well below $1000.

Know More

Full Answer

The dollar value associated with theft in the fourth degree charge is generally low. Iowa's theft in the fourth degree charge involves property stolen whose value falls between $200 and $500. In Hawaii the value must be less than $100 for the stolen property. In Washington and Alaska the value is less than $50. Consult the laws particular to the state where the crime is committed to learn the particulars.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is fourth degree sexual assault?

    A:

    Fourth degree sexual assault is defined as sexual contact with an individual who has not given consent. It is considered a Class A misdemeanor and is not considered a violent sexual assault. Sexual contact in a fourth degree sexual assault consists of intentionally touching intimate areas of the body and/or penetration with the hands.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is fourth degree burglary in Maryland?

    A:

    According to the criminal defense team of Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin and White, fourth degree burglary is the act of being inside a house or building of another without permission. This also includes entering a person's yard without his permission with the intent to steal from his yard or the attached house.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is fourth-degree assault in Kentucky?

    A:

    According to the Kentucky Legislature Research Commission, fourth degree assault is defined as intentionally causing a physical injury to another, wantonly causing physical injury, or recklessly causing injury to another with a dangerous instrument.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a fourth degree felony in Ohio?

    A:

    Several criminal offences are considered fourth degree felonies in Ohio, including grand theft of a motor vehicle, safe-cracking, unlawful sexual conduct with a minor, aggravated assault and certain other types of theft. According to the revised Ohio Criminal Codes, fourth degree felonies are punishable by 6 to 18 months in prison and up to a $5,000 fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore