Q:

What happens if you don't pay court fines?

A:

Quick Answer

People who do not pay court fines face consequences that vary by state and may include a jail sentence, loss of driver's license, revoked state benefits or food stamps and loss of voting privileges, according to a National Public Radio report. Additional fines, fees and interest may also be incurred.

Know More

Full Answer

Jail time served does not necessarily eliminate all fines in many states. Court fees, fines and interest can be garnished from a violator's wages, welfare benefits, disability payments or unemployment benefits, according to a National Public Radio report. Neglecting to pay court fines may also impede people from obtaining employment when a background check shows outstanding warrants or violations.

Learn more about Law Enforcement
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What happens if your driver's license expires?

    A:

    If a person's driver's license expires, then the person is no longer allowed to drive any form of motor vehicle, and the driver will be subject to fines if caught driving with the expired license. The driver may have to pay additional fees if he or she allows the license to go past 30 days of expiration, and the fees depend on the driver's state.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the penalties for driving on a suspended license?

    A:

    The penalties for driving on a suspended license vary by state and include fines, jail time and continued suspension of the driver's license, according to CriminalDefenseLawyer.com. The penalties are often more severe for repeat offenders. Driving after the suspension period has passed without satisfying the court's requirements for license reinstatement can result in being found guilty of driving with a suspended license or driving without a valid license.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How much does it cost to get your car out of police impound?

    A:

    The cost of recovering a car from a police impound varies according to state and local laws and may range anywhere from $100 to $1,000, according to CostHelper.com. The vehicle's size, its condition and the length of the impound may also affect the price.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Which Texas prison has the highest rate of executions?

    A:

    There is no one Texas prison associated with more executions than any other, but more executions take place in Harris County than in any other county in the state. As of 2014, Harris County has executed 122 people.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore