Q:

What happens when a house is condemned?

A:

Quick Answer

When a house is condemned, the residents are given a notice to vacate the premises, usually with a short compliance period of one to 30 days, according to the City of St. Paul, Minn. In some instances the house is deemed too hazardous to be inhabited and the residents are required to move immediately.

Know More
What happens when a house is condemned?
Credit: David Trood Stone Getty Images

Full Answer

The City of St. Paul notes that if the issues that caused the house to be condemned are corrected before the notice to vacate expires, the notice can be lifted and vacating the premises is no longer necessary. If the issues are corrected after the notice expires and the property has been vacated, the property can be lived in again. Structural problems, fire hazards, rodent or pest infestations and lack of access to basic facilities or utilities can all lead to a house being condemned. Massachusetts Legal Help notes that once a building has been condemned, the landlord, owner or tenant can appear at a court hearing to challenge the condemnation. In Massachusetts, people who are asked to vacate their homes because of condemnation can apply for city assistance. This assistance can be relocation help to find a new or temporary place to live while repairs are made on the house or a relocation assistance payment to help cover moving expenses.

Learn More

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is a North Carolina eviction notice?

    A:

    According to LawHelp.org, an eviction notice in North Carolina is called a notice to vacate. North Carolina state law requires landlords to follow any eviction terms written into a lease. In the absence of eviction terms in the lease agreement, landlords must adhere to state statutes requiring notice times.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are rights of tenants in Pennsylvania?

    A:

    In Pennsylvania, tenant rights include quiet enjoyment, habitability, return of security deposit if no damage to building exists, the right to have a notice of perceived violations and advanced notice of evictions. The rights of Pennsylvania tenants reside in the Pennsylvania Tenant-Landlord Handbook, which also outlines the rights and duties of landlords. The Handbook serves as a legally enforceable guide outlining the basic rights of tenants living around the State of Pennsylvania.

      Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Has my bankruptcy been discharged?

    A:

    The debtor in a bankruptcy case receives a notice of a discharge by mail once the discharge is completed, according to the United States Courts. The timing of the discharge depends on the type of bankruptcy case. Individual chapter 7 bankruptcies are usually discharged four months after the petition is filed with the clerk. Individual chapter 11, 12 and 13 bankruptcy cases are usually discharged after debtor payments are completed.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are Indiana's eviction laws?

    A:

    In Indiana, a landlord must serve a notice to the tenant in regards to unpaid rent or violation of agreement terms, according to Laws.com. The tenant has 10 days to respond. If the matter is not remedied within the allotted timeframe, the landlord can file a complaint with the district court.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore