When the police recover a stolen car, it normally has damage from the thieves breaking into it, reckless driving or removal of anything of value, which the insurance company evaluates to determine if the car is a total loss. If its repair is feasible and the owner has comprehensive coverage, insurance typically pays to restore its previous condition.Know More
Approximately 30 percent of stolen vehicles never surface again, according to The Motley Fool. Damage on recovered cars often includes broken glass, a busted steering column and scratches or dents. Thieves commonly remove the car's sound system and other easy-to-sell parts. While auto insurance covers these damages, it does not cover personal possessions lost in the vehicle, or the amount of the insurance deductible. While a homeowner's policy or rental insurance covers these possessions, there is often a deductible with this policy as well. If both policies are with the same company, some victims find the insurance company willing to waive the smaller deductible amount.
If the insurance company pays the claim before the recovery, the company takes possession of the car. In some of these cases, the owner is able to recover personal possessions left inside. It is sometimes possible to buy the vehicle back from the insurance company if law enforcement locates it after a settlement.Learn more about Crime
Gap car insurance covers a driver when he has a total loss on a vehicle and the insurance company benefits don't pay off the balance remaining on his loan. The gap policy kicks in and covers the difference to protect the owner from having to pay the difference himself.Full Answer >
A total loss valuation in a car insurance claim happens when an insurance company determines that a vehicle is damaged beyond repair. It can also happen when an insurance company determines that it would cost more to repair the vehicle than the car is worth at current market value.Full Answer >
TD Insurance notes that at-fault accidents generally stay on a person's driving record for between six and ten years. The California Department of Motor Vehicles notes that points that are assigned to a driver's license for an at-fault accident may stay on the driver's record for three to ten years.Full Answer >
According to the Utah State Courts, a Class B misdemeanor includes charges of assault, resisting arrest, DUI, reckless driving, possession of marijuana under 1 ounce, drug paraphernalia, shoplifting (under $300), trespass of a dwelling and public nuisance. Concealed weapon violations and numerous traffic offenses are also Class B misdemeanors.Full Answer >