According to GeorgiaLegalAid.org, a person who violates the terms of probation in Georgia is required to attend a court hearing where a judge determines whether or not the conditions of the probation were violated. If it is determined in the hearing that the probation was violated, the court can revoke probation or sentence the person to an alternative punishment.Know More
A probation violation in Georgia can result in the violator having to serve time in jail, notes GeorgiaLegalAid.org. If a judge imposes an alternative sentence, the judge can require that the violator spend time in a rehabilitation program, complete community service or attend a probation detention center where the person works to pay off a fine for violating probation.
The source reports that there are two ways to violate probation in Georgia: a technical violation or a substantive violation. If a probationer breaks probation by a substantive violation, it means that the person has committed an additional crime. A probationer who violates probation with a technical violation has failed to meet a condition of probation, including failure to pay a fine or fee, failure to report to the probation officer, failure to perform community service or failure to meet the requirements of probation. Requirements of probation can include remaining within the jurisdiction of the court, not crossing state lines, not socializing with persons of a criminal nature and maintaining suitable employment.Learn more about Crime
When a driver receives a speeding ticket in Georgia, he receives a citation with a date to pay the ticket. If he does not pay the ticket, the driver must appear in court to dispute the charge, according to DMV.com. Failure to do so causes legal consequences.Full Answer >
A birth certificate in Georgia may be obtained either by mail or in person. To obtain the certificate by mail, a signed and completed form with the required information, a copy of a photo ID, and payment by certified check or money order of $25 is required. Additional copies cost $5 each. The certificate may be obtained in person from the Office of Vital Records on the same day.Full Answer >
The rules of probation vary among states and are regulated by federal and state laws. Payment of fines, community service, counseling and completion of a court-ordered drug and alcohol program are some of the most common requirements of probation, according to the Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute.Full Answer >
Though handicap parking laws vary from state to state, contesting a handicap parking ticket usually involves notifying the city clerk's office of a plea of not guilty or entering a request for a court hearing on or before the date the fine is due and pleading the case in front of a judge. Penalties for parking tickets also vary greatly by state. Some states impose only a minor fine while others impose jail time penalties as well. For this reason, knowing the prospective penalty for a handicap parking violation is crucial when deciding whether to fight the ticket in court.Full Answer >