What is an Illinois Class 4 felony?
Credit:Bruce LeightyPhotolibraryGetty Images
Q:

What is an Illinois Class 4 felony?

A:

Quick Answer

A Class 4 felony in Illinois is any felony that can be punished by at least one year in state prison but no more than three. It is the lowest level of felony in the state.

 Know More

Full Answer

Some examples of Class 4 felonies in Illinois include possession of between 30 and 500 grams of marijuana, aggravated assault and theft of government property less than $500. A person convicted of a Class 4 felony may be eligible for probation depending on the crime; the judge can issue a ruling for probation that shall not exceed 30 months. Maximum fines for all felony classes, including Class 4, can be up to $25,000.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How long is the typical sentence for a felony?

    A:

    The typical sentence for a felony is at least one year in jail. Felonies are the most serious offenses against humanity and include crimes such as murder, rape, burglary, kidnapping and arson.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Missouri Class C felony?

    A:

    As of 2014, a Class C felony is the third-most serious class of felony, which is punishable by a maximum of seven years in prison. Class C felonies include crimes such as theft, possession of a controlled substance, second-degree statutory rape and first-degree involuntary manslaughter.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas?

    A:

    As of 2014, the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas is a sentence of two to 20 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000, according to FindLaw. Burglary of a habitation is a felony of the second degree, the most serious classification of burglary.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the laws in Texas involving drug paraphernalia?

    A:

    Possessing drug paraphernalia in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor, and selling or delivering drug paraphernalia is a Class A misdemeanor, as of 2015. A person caught possessing or selling drug paraphernalia faces up to two years in prison and a $10,000 fine, depending on the circumstances.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore