According to the Public Legal Education Association, there is no minimum age that someone must be in order to work as a private babysitter. The law states that it is at the discretion of a child's parent to determine an acceptable, responsible and appropriate age for a babysitter.Know More
It is important to remember that an adolescent minor who is under 16 years of age cannot provide babysitting services during school hours, without permission from a school administrator. Some commentators suggest that the minimum babysitting age should be 12, but that has not been codified.
There are a number of things to consider prior to leaving a child at home with a babysitter. Important things to consider are: the age and maturity level of the babysitter, the experience of the babysitter, the age and maturity of the child or children, the duration of the babysitting assignment, and the needs or special needs of the children.
The parents also have an obligation to make responsible babysitting decisions. These responsibilities include: providing detailed babysitting instructions to the babysitter, securing the home, arriving home at the agreed upon hour, and providing contact information about the parent's whereabouts and emergency contact information if the parents are unavailable.Learn more about Legal Ages
As of 2015, the minimum age to obtain a fishing license in Texas is 17, according to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Youth residents and non-residents under 17 are allowed to fish without a license.Full Answer >
There is no written law specifying the minimum age for a babysitter in Texas. However, the state Department of Family and Protective Services makes several recommendations for child care on its web site.Full Answer >
The minimum age to buy stocks independently is the age of majority, which is between 18 and 21, depending on the state, according to The Motley Fool. However, a minor can open a "custodial account" with a parent who authorizes the minor's participation.Full Answer >
The minimum age to serve alcohol in on-premises establishments varies from state-to-state. Thirty-seven states and the District of Columbia require servers to be 18 or older. Three states require servers to be 21, and three states allow a 17-year-old to serve alcohol.Full Answer >