What is the law on leaving your dog in the car?
Credit:Blake LittleStoneGetty Images
Q:

What is the law on leaving your dog in the car?

A:

Quick Answer

Laws concerning leaving a dog unattended in a car vary from state to state. Only 14 states have statutes that forbid leaving pets in a confined vehicle, according to the Animal Legal and Historical Center's 2013 report. In general, conditions in the car must not endanger the animal's life.

 Know More

Full Answer

Some laws specifically state that extreme temperatures and lack of ventilation meet this specification. Courts also consider whether the owner has failed to provide adequate food and drink for the pet. Campbell and Pima Animal Care in Arizona states that reckless endangerment of a dog can result in up to 6 months in jail and a $2,500 fine.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Why do laws change?

    A:

    Laws change to keep up with the ever-evolving views and values of the society. Lawmakers play a critical role in identifying shifts in expectations and values of the society so as to create and pass new laws.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the importance of laws in society?

    A:

    Laws are in place to protect people against harm, according to civil liberties expert Tom Head for About.com. Societal rules also prevent vulnerable people from being exploited, and laws safeguard personal property. Laws also exist for granting goods and services to citizens.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is an attorney's bar number public information?

    A:

    While information available on attorneys may vary from state to state, generally an attorney's bar number is public information. A state bar association's website allows people to search for attorneys by name, providing the bar number as part of the results, as the Florida Bar explains.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How long do you have to be married to get alimony?

    A:

    In the United States, the length of marriage required for an ex-spouse to receive alimony varies from state to state. For example, in California, alimony may be granted for marriages that only lasted a year, according to Nolo. The duration of financial support runs for 6 months.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore