Teenagers can move out of their parents' home in Georgia via legal emancipation, marriage or joining the military. In the state of Georgia, teens that are 16 and 17 years of age may apply to be legally emancipated through the Georgia Juvenile Court system, according to Georgia Legal Aid.Know More
According to Georgia Legal Aid, there are four ways in which a minor in Georgia can legally make decisions like an adult. She can seek legal emancipation through a court, get married, join the military or turn age 18. Emancipation frees the minor of parental or guardian control. Emancipated teens are then able to make decisions regarding housing and finances, including signing legal paperwork such as leases, and are able to move out of their parents' home. Parents of emancipated teens are not required to provide child support.
Seeking emancipation through the juvenile court system in Georgia requires the minor to be a resident of the state. The court places certain conditions on the process, according to Georgia Legal Aid. Parents or guardians must consent to the emancipation request. Should parents object, the burden falls on the minor to prove to the court why emancipation is the best course of action. The minor must also show the court that she is perfectly capable of managing her own affairs.Learn more about Legal Ages
It is not legal to move out at the age of 17 in Texas, unless one has been emancipated by the courts. In the State of Texas, the "age of majority" is 18 years old, according to FindLaw. Therefore, a minor who is 17 years of age is still under the control of, and is the responsibility of their parents, unless emancipation has been grated.Full Answer >
According to the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School, a child is legally able to move out of his parents' home at the age of majority, which is 18 in most states. In some states, the age of majority is 19.Full Answer >
In most states, the legal age to move out of a parent's home is 16 because this is the legal age of emancipation, according to FindLaw. This age varies from 14 to 17, so minors wanting to leave home should check with the court in their own state.Full Answer >
In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.Full Answer >