Q:

What are the laws in Tennessee concerning emancipation?

A:

According to the laws of Tennessee, a minor must request a judicial review to become emancipated. There is no legal age required for emancipation to be granted.

Know More

Full Answer

Legal Aid of Tennessee states that in order to get emancipated, a minor must first petition the court for emancipation. The application for petition of emancipation must state the names of the minor's present parents or guardians and the reason why the child is seeking emancipation. The application is submitted to the clerk of court, who will charge a fee, and forward copies to the minor's parents if their signature is not already present on the document. The court then schedules a hearing date for the minor to explain to the judge why emancipation should occur. Parents are notified of the hearing as well and may express their opinions before the judge. Good causes for emancipation include entering a contract, buying a car, moving into an apartment, borrowing money, or escaping parental neglect or abuse. Minors must also show that they are mature enough and can financially support themselves, according to FindLaw. This means that minors can financially support and provide housing for themselves. They must also prove that they will finish school.

Learn more in Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the emancipation laws in Texas?

    A:

    In order to petition for an emancipation in the state of Texas, it is necessary to be a Texas resident, be able to provide personal support and be 17 years old, as stated by FindLaw. As with every other state, Texas recognizes 18 years of age as the legal age for a resident to be considered an adult.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the ticket scalping laws in Tennessee?

    A:

    As of 2015, no laws in Tennessee restrict the scalping of tickets to concerts and sporting events. A 2013 bill attempting to impose greater restrictions on the resale ticket market floundered after facing heavy opposition from critics.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the child abandonment laws in Tennessee?

    A:

    Tennessee law defines abandonment as a parent's deliberate failure to visit or provide financial support for his child for a period of four successive months. Even if such grounds are proven, the court must still determine whether termination of parental rights is in the best interest of the child, notes the Law Office of Paula Ogle Blair.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Why was the Emancipation Proclamation important?

    A:

    The Emancipation Proclamation was important because it helped to set free all the slaves in the Confederate states. The proclamation only applied to states that had withdrawn from the Union, thus allowing slavery in the loyal border states and parts of the Confederacy that were under the control of the North. The Emancipation Proclamation was issued by President Abraham Lincoln on July 1, 1863, during the bloody Civil War in the United States.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore