Q:

What is the legal age of an adult in Alabama?

A:

Quick Answer

In Alabama, individuals are no longer considered minors when they turn 19 years of age. At that age, they may enter into contracts without the consent of a parent or legal guardian.

  Know More

Full Answer

Although 19 years of age is considered the legal age in Alabama, individuals may marry without consent of their parents at the age of 18. They may also purchase firearms as long as they meet all of the required stipulations for gun ownership. Individuals may not consume alcoholic beverages, however, until they are 21 years of age, since the legal drinking age is determined on a federal rather than state level.

Learn more about Law

Try a quiz

Q:
What is the deepest ocean in the world?

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Why is 18 the legal adult age?

    A:

    Slate explains that the reason the legal age for Americans is 18 deals with the idea of voting. Stemming from the Vietnam War era, people did not agree that it was okay to send 18-year-olds to war without giving them the right to vote first. Prior to that era, the minimum voting age was 21. When the 26th Amendment was passed in 1971, the age moved down to 18.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal babysitting age in Alabama?

    A:

    The state of Alabama doesn't have a legal minimum age for babysitters as of May 2015 but it's illegal for children under the age of 16 to work during a typical school day, according to the Labor Law Talk Blog. This rule also applies to kids who are home schooled.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some states that allow common law marriage?

    A:

    Alabama, Colorado, Iowa, Kansas and Montana recognize common law marriages as do Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and the District of Columbia, according to FindLaw. Georgia, Idaho, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, Ohio and Pennsylvania ban common law marriages but generally recognize them if formed before the ban date.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the remaining blue laws in Texas?

    A:

    Although legal reforms have abolished many of Texas's "blue laws" (religion-motivated laws governing sales on the Sabbath), it is still illegal to sell liquor on a Sunday in Texas (along with 11 other states, including Alabama, Minnesota and Oklahoma) as well as to open a car dealership on more than one day over a weekend. Until 1985, it was also illegal to sell furniture, clothing, hardware and appliances, among many other items, on more than one day over a weekend.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore