The state of California does not have a minimum age requirement for babysitting. For other types of work, age 12 is the youngest age at which a minor is able to obtain a work permit, as documented in California's labor laws.Know More
The labor laws of California state that babysitting is considered irregular work and is exempt from work permit requirements. Minors under age 12 are allowed to do irregular odd jobs in private households, including babysitting.
The American Red Cross, which provides babysitting training and certifications, recommends that children who babysit be at least 11 years of age. Experts also say that an 11-year-old trained in babysitting is often better prepared than an older child who is untrained; the maturity to perform babysitting duties is not always reflected in age.Learn more about Legal Ages
There is no legal babysitting age in the state of Texas. The state, however, does require children under the age of 18 to provide an age certificate to work.Full Answer >
In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.Full Answer >
According to Nolo, the minimum legal age to leave home is 16 in most states; legally leaving home before age 18 is called emancipation. Emancipation frees parents from their financial obligations to support the minor. Minors are free from any obligation to remain physically with their parents. Generally, there are three ways to get emancipated: marriage, joining the military or petitioning a court.Full Answer >
In the state of California, there is no law that suggests that a person under the age of 18 running away from home is committing a crime. Minors who run from home can be detained by police and returned to a legal guardian, according to The Interstate Compact on Juveniles.Full Answer >