Q:

What is the legal age to drop out of school in Ohio?

A:

Quick Answer

In Ohio, kids are not able to drop out of school until they are 18 years old, as stated in chapter 3321 of the Ohio legal code, as noted by LAWriter. Exceptions to the rule include students who earn a diploma before the age of 18, kids who are home schooled and teens who are employed.

Know More

Full Answer

Students may quit school as early as 14 years of age if they are employed and need to work. Kids who are not physically or mentally capable of attending school are also exempted. Parents whose children are not attending school and do not meet any of the criteria for an exception can be fined or imprisoned for their child's delinquency.

Learn more about Legal Ages
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is the minimum legal age to leave home?

    A:

    According to Nolo, the minimum legal age to leave home is 16 in most states; legally leaving home before age 18 is called emancipation. Emancipation frees parents from their financial obligations to support the minor. Minors are free from any obligation to remain physically with their parents. Generally, there are three ways to get emancipated: marriage, joining the military or petitioning a court.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal age for children to stay home alone overnight?

    A:

    In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal piercing age in California?

    A:

    The California State Penal Code states that it is illegal for anyone under 18 years of age to be pierced. However, minors may be pierced with their parent or legal guardian present.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal babysitting age in Alabama?

    A:

    The state of Alabama doesn't have a legal minimum age for babysitters as of May 2015 but it's illegal for children under the age of 16 to work during a typical school day, according to the Labor Law Talk Blog. This rule also applies to kids who are home schooled.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore