According to the Empire State Coalition of Youth and Family Services, minors are not permitted to leave home in New York state until they are 18 years old. Police typically return minors to their homes if they leave without permission.
However, a minor under 18 is allowed to live in a certified runaway shelter for 30 days without parental permission, as the Empire State Coalition of Youth and Family Services explains. Law NY, Legal Assistance of Western New York, notes that some minors over 16 are considered emancipated, or free, from their parents, although there is no formal process for this in the state. These minors generally do not live at home, and they support themselves financially.Learn More
Ohio Legal Services explains that minors are automatically emancipated at age 18 or upon graduating from high school if they turn 18 during their senior year. To be emancipated before reaching age 18, a minor must either join a branch of the armed services or become married. Ohio state law does not allow a minor or the minor's parents to petition the court for emancipation.Full Answer >
A parent in New York state is expected to support a child until the child reaches the age of 21, according to NYCourts.gov. This is true as long as the child is still living at home.Full Answer >
The legal age to quit school varies by state, but it is never any younger than 16. Students may also be required to complete a certain amount of classes or enroll in a GED program before leaving.Full Answer >
The California State Penal Code states that it is illegal for anyone under 18 years of age to be pierced. However, minors may be pierced with their parent or legal guardian present.Full Answer >