Q:

What is the legal age to move out in Missouri?

A:

Quick Answer

A person may legally move out of his legal guardian's house when he reaches the age of majority, which is 18 years old in Missouri. In certain cases, a minor may become legally emancipated from his legal guardian beginning at age 16.

  Know More

Full Answer

Legal emancipation of a minor occurs automatically if a minor enlists in the military or gets married. Alternatively, a minor's legal guardian can sign away his parental rights. In order to be considered for emancipation, a minor must be able to show a court that he is living on his own and is financially supporting himself through legal means.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Can I legally move out at age 17 in Texas?

    A:

    It is not legal to move out at the age of 17 in Texas, unless one has been emancipated by the courts. In the State of Texas, the "age of majority" is 18 years old, according to FindLaw. Therefore, a minor who is 17 years of age is still under the control of, and is the responsibility of their parents, unless emancipation has been grated.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal age for children to stay home alone overnight?

    A:

    In the United States, no federal law exists setting an age at which children can stay home along unsupervised, although some states have certain restrictions on age for children to stay home alone as well as duration of unsupervised period. Generally, individual families have quite a bit of flexibility in determining when children are physically and emotionally mature enough to remain home without parental supervision. Although most states do not have specific ages for leaving kids alone, some states, such as Maryland, require children who are age 8 or younger to have adult supervision, such as a babysitter or nanny, when parents must leave the home.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal piercing age in California?

    A:

    The California State Penal Code states that it is illegal for anyone under 18 years of age to be pierced. However, minors may be pierced with their parent or legal guardian present.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal babysitting age in Alabama?

    A:

    The state of Alabama doesn't have a legal minimum age for babysitters as of May 2015 but it's illegal for children under the age of 16 to work during a typical school day, according to the Labor Law Talk Blog. This rule also applies to kids who are home schooled.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore