In New York, it is legal for a child to move out of his parent's home at the age of majority, which is 18. At that age and under normal circumstances, a person is judged to be responsible to make adult decisions about his living arrangements.
"Age of majority" is a legal term that indicates that a person is responsible for the majority of his actions. Conversely, a minor person is only responsible for a minority of his actions. Of course, circumstances often arise in which it is necessary for a minor person to be removed from his parent's home. In those cases, the decision of where the minor child must reside is left to an adult guardian or a court.Learn More
New Jersey law does not give a specific minimum age at which children may be left home alone. However, New Jersey statute 9:6-8.21 is applicable to abuse and neglect if a child under 18 has been endangered when left home alone.Full Answer >
According to the Empire State Coalition of Youth and Family Services, minors are not permitted to leave home in New York state until they are 18 years old. Police typically return minors to their homes if they leave without permission.Full Answer >
The California State Penal Code states that it is illegal for anyone under 18 years of age to be pierced. However, minors may be pierced with their parent or legal guardian present.Full Answer >
Pennsylvania law does not specify an age at which children may be left home alone. This important question has gained national attention recently as parents try to decide when their children are old enough to be left to care for themselves or others.Full Answer >