Federal law does not require employers to give employees a break during work hours, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. State laws vary as to how long an employee works between breaks. A 30-minute meal break for every five to six hours worked is standard in those states that do have such laws in place.Know More
There are only eight states - California, Minnesota, Colorado, Vermont, Kentucky, Nevada and Washington, that have mandates requiring employers to give their employees rest breaks. Outside of those states it is up to individual employers to decide if breaks are necessary, and when an employee should take them if they are.
When it comes to meal breaks, the laws are similarly diverse and many states have no legal rules regarding the taking of meal breaks. However, when employees are required to work while eating lunch, they may be entitled to compensation for this time under state law.Learn more about Is This Illegal?
According to LegalMatch, under federal law, mandatory overtime is generally legal, with certain jobs requiring that employees be paid for time and a half over 40 hours. However, in California, there is a provision that allows for any employee to refuse to work beyond 72 hours per week without repercussions.Full Answer >
Wages, work hours, environment and hiring practices are a few aspects of employment subject to employment laws, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. Pregnancy protections, child labor and medical leave are also regulated by law. The DOL and individual state labor agencies propose and enforce employment regulations.Full Answer >
Whether green headlights are legal depends on the traffic laws of the state in which the car is being driven. In Connecticut, headlights must either be white or amber. In California, headlights must be white. Some states, including Washington, require that the headlights conform to the federal manufacturing requirements.Full Answer >
Pepper spray is legal in Chicago, as well as all of the other cities in Illinois. Pepper spray is defined under state law 720 Ill Comp. Stat. 5/24-1(2008).Full Answer >