Q:

What is the lemon law for North Carolina?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the North Carolina Department of Justice, the North Carolina New Motor Vehicles Warranties Act, or the lemon law, requires manufacturers to repair defects affecting the use or safety of a new vehicle within the first 24 months of its life. The law applies to cars, trucks and motorcycles.

 Know More

Full Answer

DMV.org points out that the lemon law typically kicks in after four attempts have been made to repair a given defect in a new vehicle. The North Carolina Department of Justice explains that the manufacturer must be given 15 days to repair the problem. If it cannot be fixed, the manufacturer must provide a new car instead; the owner can request a refund in place of a new car.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How do you file for divorce in North Carolina?

    A:

    Someone can file for divorce in North Carolina after meeting the residency requirements and the spouses have lived separately for a certain period, according to WomensLaw.org. Typically, court appearances are then held to resolve any complaints from the served spouse, and a judge declares a divorce final after a hearing.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How does a teen get emancipated in North Carolina?

    A:

    Teens who meet residency and age requirements may file an emancipation petition with a county court by submitting identification details, contact information, a certified birth certificate and plans for maintaining independent income, according to the North Carolina General Assembly. Teens must be at least 16 years old and show proof of living in one county or federal territory of North Carolina for a minimum of six months prior to petitioning.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a North Carolina eviction notice?

    A:

    According to LawHelp.org, an eviction notice in North Carolina is called a notice to vacate. North Carolina state law requires landlords to follow any eviction terms written into a lease. In the absence of eviction terms in the lease agreement, landlords must adhere to state statutes requiring notice times.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are North Carolina's repossession laws?

    A:

    North Carolina repossession laws state that if someone is behind on payments or has failed to maintain any required insurance, the lien holder of the property has the right to repossess the property. However, they do not have the right to breach the peace during recovery.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore