Child emancipation laws in Louisiana are covered under the Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure. In order for a minor to be emancipated, the minor must be at least 16 years old, according to Louisiana Civil Code, Book I, Title VIII, Chap. 2, Sect. 4, Art. 385, notes Boston Coop Network.
In order to be judicially emancipated, the minor must go through a court process that includes having the consent of a parent or tutor. This consent must include notification to the court that the minor is able to manage his or her own finances and affairs. If the judge agrees, the emancipation can be granted.
In some cases, the emancipation can occur without parental consent, notes USLegal Law Digest. These cases for emancipation include the ill treatment of the child by the parents. Minors can also be emancipated by marriage and by a limited judgment of emancipation, according to USLegal Law Digest.
In all cases of emancipation, the parents of the emancipated child have some relief from liability regarding the emancipated minor's actions. Otherwise, Louisiana law can hold a parent accountable for a child's actions if the child lives with the parent or if the parent has the child live with someone else, without the child being emancipated, notes Edler Law Firm.Learn More
As of September of 2014, Georgia does have teenage curfew laws, but they do vary by city. For example, in the city of Alpharetta, the curfew law states that teenagers 17 and younger cannot be out later than 11 p.m. from Sunday through Thursday. From Friday through Saturday, the curfew is 11.59 p.m. and ends the following day at 6 a.m.Full Answer >
No laws in the State of Florida require consenting parties to reach a certain age in order to date. However, a number of state laws prohibit sexual activity with minors. As a general rule, an adult cannot engage in sexual acts with a minor, even if they are dating.Full Answer >
Teenagers can move out of their parents' home in Georgia via legal emancipation, marriage or joining the military. In the state of Georgia, teens that are 16 and 17 years of age may apply to be legally emancipated through the Georgia Juvenile Court system, according to Georgia Legal Aid.Full Answer >
When it comes to children and custodial issues before family court there is no "magical age," says family law attorney Jeanne M. Hannah. As far as the courts are concerned, children are defined as legal incompetents who don't have the ability to make sound legal choices. The court does, however, take into account any statements children make in regard to living preferences.Full Answer >