The number of feet a driver must park away from an intersection varies depending on state and local laws. For example, the City of St. Paul, Minn., states that drivers must park at least 30 feet from an intersection with a stop sign or stop light.Know More
The city of St. Paul advises that drivers can park only 20 feet from an intersection with a marked or unmarked crosswalk.
Parking rules are slightly different in Detroit, Mich. The city website advises drivers that they must park at least 15 feet from an intersection or unmarked crosswalk, 20 feet from marked crosswalks and 30 feet from stop signs.Learn More
A moving traffic violation is any violation of driving laws that occurs while a vehicle is in motion, according to USLegal. Moving violations vary considerably by jurisdiction. Common moving violations include drunk driving, failure to stop at a traffic light or stop sign, speeding, failure to yield to a vehicle that has the right of way and reckless driving. Parking, equipment and paperwork violations do not fall into this category.Full Answer >
In Georgia, a "Super Speeder" fine for going 75 mph or more on a 2-lane road, or 85 mph or more on any road or highway adds a $200 fine to the original speeding ticket, states DMV.org. Fines for speeding tickets in Georgia can vary based on violations, notes DMV.orgFull Answer >
According to the California Department of Transportation, the minimum fine for misuse of the carpool lane, also known as the "HOV" or "High Occupancy Vehicle" lane, is $481 as of 2014. Although no maximum fine is listed, it's suggested that most fines will be at or near the minimum amount.Full Answer >
The penalty for paying a speeding ticket late varies by state. In Florida and New York, for example, drivers who fail to pay their traffic ticket on time face a suspended license. Late payment also increases the cost of the ticket for the driver in these states.Full Answer >