According to Nolo, the minimum legal age to leave home is 16 in most states; legally leaving home before age 18 is called emancipation. Emancipation frees parents from their financial obligations to support the minor. Minors are free from any obligation to remain physically with their parents. Generally, there are three ways to get emancipated: marriage, joining the military or petitioning a court.Know More
Most states require parental permission for marriage before a certain age. Joining the military requires a high school diploma or its equivalent. Successfully petitioning the court typically requires the applicant to show financial support, adequate living arrangements and a plan to complete secondary education, explains the Connecticut Network for Legal Aid.
Nolo explains that the minimum age for emancipation varies from state-to-state. In California, the minimum age to apply for emancipation is 14. An alternative to emancipation for a minor who has not reached the minimum age is termination of parental rights in the case of child neglect or abuse. However, if parental rights are terminated and the teen is not eligible for emancipation, the teen becomes a ward of the state, according to Sacramento County Public Law Library. Even when emancipated, the teenager does not have all the rights and responsibilities of an adult. He cannot vote or buy tobacco products, notes the Alaska Bar Association.Learn more about Legal Ages
The state of Alabama doesn't have a legal minimum age for babysitters as of May 2015 but it's illegal for children under the age of 16 to work during a typical school day, according to the Labor Law Talk Blog. This rule also applies to kids who are home schooled.Full Answer >
The California State Penal Code states that it is illegal for anyone under 18 years of age to be pierced. However, minors may be pierced with their parent or legal guardian present.Full Answer >
In most states, the minimum age of a person signing an apartment lease is 18 according to Lawcheck, a legal sourcebook. In some states, the minimum age requirement is 19 years old.Full Answer >
According to the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School, a child is legally able to move out of his parents' home at the age of majority, which is 18 in most states. In some states, the age of majority is 19.Full Answer >