Q:

What are Missouri's laws that relate to eviction?

A:

Quick Answer

According to Eviction Resources, a Missouri tenant can be given written notice of eviction if he fails to fulfill previously agreed upon terms of a contract and a specified amount of time to correct the aforementioned breach of contract has passed. The most common reasons for eviction are nonpayment of rent, staying longer than the lease is valid and violating terms of the lease.

 Know More

Full Answer

Although there are various reasons why tenants require eviction, LandlordGuidance.com states that rent and possession suits and unlawful detainment suits are the only two types of eviction suits used by Missouri landlords when a tenant fails to heed an eviction notice. The former covers nonpayment and the latter covers all other reasons.

According to LandlordGuidance.com, Missouri does not specify how much time to give a tenant to correct a breach of contract. However, other states allow three-to-five days and it is advised that a similar amount of time be granted. A Missouri landlord is never allowed to evict a tenant for any reason without a court's approval. Tenants also have 10 days after their court date to appeal a court-ordered eviction. A notice does not need to be served if there is illegal activity occurring on the premises; in this case, landlords are advised to immediately go to the appropriate authorities.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How can you check for warrants in Missouri?

    A:

    The easiest way to search for active arrest warrants in Missouri is to do a search for litigants on Missouri Case Net through the state court system. Users can input a person's first and last name, click on the court case number and then see if a warrant has been issued in the case. Searches can be narrowed by various circuits, counties and cities.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a good example of a breach of duty for a negligence lawsuit?

    A:

    An example of breach of duty is a motor vehicle accident in which it's alleged that a defendant failed to obey the traffic laws under the applicable vehicle code. The duty to obey traffic laws is established by the vehicle code, and failing to stop at a red light or driving too fast is the breach of that duty.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you write a sublease agreement contract?

    A:

    Rocket Lawyer notes that in order to write a legally binding sublease agreement contract, the original tenant needs to list the location of the residence, how long the sublease agreement lasts, rent and security deposit amounts, and all parties involved in the agreement. Sublease agreements are also known as residential sublease agreements, room rental agreements and sublet contracts.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you file for legal separation in Missouri?

    A:

    To file for a legal separation in Missouri, either party must file for a petition in the county where he or she resides and have enough evidence to support the petition. Also, a person must be a resident or a member of the military stationed in the state at least for 90 days before the case. Parties usually enter a written separation agreement that highlights the provisions for disposition of property, support and parenting.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore