Rent-assistance from the Department of Social Services for families varies from state to state. Typically, DSS requires documentation of the financial crisis, and a family must meet other eligibility criteria before receiving rental assistance.Know More
In North Carolina, for instance, a family must provide documentation of all income and must be 200 percent below the poverty line to receive assistance with rent. In some states, including New York, families that have been served an eviction notice or those who are homeless may be eligible for cash assistance to pay rent. In some cases, DSS may pay the entire amount due for rent or mortgage.
Some states, such as Maryland, examine each application for emergency rental assistance, then base the amount provided to each family on the specific financial situation of the applicant. For instance, a family with no income may receive funding to cover the full amount of past due rent, while those with some income may receive a portion of the rent arrears.
In addition to providing assistance for rent arrears, DSS may also provide assistance with security deposits on a new rental home or provide assistance with moving costs. Each application for assistance with housing must be accompanied by photo identification, Social Security numbers for each family member and proof of the family's income, as well as any additional documentation requested by DSS.Learn more about Social Services
The licensing requirements for a home day care vary among state, according to Child Care Aware, and the best way to determine what qualifications must be met to become licensed for child care in a private home is to check with the local Department of Family and Social Services for specific guidelines. Information is usually available at the official website for each state's office.Full Answer >
State unemployment tax rates vary from state to state. Most states use a payroll tax structure involving three rate types: one for new businesses, a discounted rate for established businesses, and a premium rate, according to the Houston Chronicle. A state's labor department can help calculate the rate.Full Answer >
In the United States, laws regarding age requirements on adoption vary from state to state, but one must be at least 18 years of age to adopt a child. The requirement of being 21 years of age, however, is much more common.Full Answer >
The customer service number for Medicaid differs from state to state. Medicaid is not a federally run program but rather a program that is delegated by each state. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services headquarters located in Baltimore, Md., can be reached at 1-877-267-2323, as of 2014.Full Answer >