Q:

What is the number of people allowed in a three-bedroom house in Florida by law?

A:

Quick Answer

By law, six people can live in a three-bedroom house in Florida. This number can be more or less depending on the actual living space.

Know More

Full Answer

In 1996, the U.S. Congress approved a two-person-per-bedroom law as a housing occupancy standard, but this law is flexible. The number of people who can occupy a bedroom depends on the property's actual layout and living space size. More people are allowed for a large living space and less people for a small living space. The number of people refers to adults and not young children. The Fair Housing Act makes it clear that there should not be any discrimination against families with children.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How much can a landlord raise the rent in Florida?

    A:

    Landlords in Florida can raise the rent as much as they desire, according to the Law Offices of Stephen K. Hachey, P.A. There are no state or city ordinances that control the amount of rent that a landlord can charge a tenant.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first-degree felony in Florida?

    A:

    A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the Florida Sunshine Law?

    A:

    The Florida Sunshine Law is a group of laws guaranteeing the public has access to state and municipal government records regarding laws, ordinances or transactions conducted by official agencies, states the National Freedom of Information Coalition. It was enacted in 1995.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the homestead law of Florida?

    A:

    As of February 2015, a property owner in the state of Florida may be eligible to receive a homestead exemption of up to $50,000, according to the Florida Department of Revenue. The property owner must provide proof of residence to qualify.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore