How old does a child have to be to ride in the front seat in North Carolina?
Credit: Jamie De Pould Moment Getty Images
Q:

How old does a child have to be to ride in the front seat in North Carolina?

A:

Quick Answer

All children who are under 5 years old or weigh less than 40 pounds must be seated in the back seat of the car if the car has passenger-side airbags. However, if the child's car seat is airbag-compatible, then the child can be seated in the front seat.

  Know More

Full Answer

DMV.org notes that all children who are under 8 years old and weigh less than 80 pounds must use a car seat or booster when riding in a car. If the child turns 8 years old before weighing 80 pounds, or if the child weighs 80 pounds before turning 8 years old, he can switch to a passenger seat belt. This depends on which scenario occurs first.

Learn more about Driving Laws
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Is a 7-year-old allowed to sit in the front seat of a car?

    A:

    In most states, 7-year-old children are permitted to sit in the front seat of a car provided they are in a child or booster seat; however, in California, Georgia, New Jersey, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Wyoming and Washington, a 7-year-old is only allowed to sit in the front seat if the back seat is unavailable or, in Washington's case, impractical. Despite the varying state regulations, it is recommended by the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that all children aged 12 or less are seated in the back seat of a car, which is a recommendation that is law in Puerto Rico. This is because passenger seat airbags pose the risk of death to young children.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the child weight and height requirements to be in a car seat?

    A:

    The weight and height laws for a car seat vary by state, but Mississippi requires booster seats for children under 57 inches tall or 65 pounds, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association. Some states legislate restrictions concerning when children must ride in rear-facing, front-facing or booster seats.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What age or weight can a child use a booster seat?

    A:

    The recommendation for use of a booster seat is that a child should weigh at least 40 pounds and be between the ages of 4 and 8. A child must also satisfy the height requirement such that he is at or below the height maximum of 4 feet and 9 inches.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do children need to be to ride in the front seat?

    A:

    To ride in the front seat, children must be at least 13 years of age and they must be properly buckled. Never sit a young child in front of an air bag or in the front seat while in a rear facing car seat.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore