While different states vary in rules and regulations, the legal age at which most drivers are able to drive a car in the United States is 16 years old. Most states have driver license restrictions that are maintained until the person is a legal adult at 18 years of age.Know More
For example, in New Jersey, a driver may receive a permit at 16 years of age, and may have an examination and probationary driver's license at 17 years old. The driver becomes eligible for an unrestricted adult driver's license at 18 years of age. A learner's permit comes with many restrictions. There must be a licensed adult over the age of 21 in the car with the student driver at all times. The driver must also complete driver education to move forward and be licensed. The driver's car must have a reflective decal on its license plate, and the driver cannot drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
While laws differ by state, provisional or probationary driver licenses typically have the night driving restriction as well. Exceptions may be made if the young driver has to drive for work purposes. A probationary driver's license must be held for 1 year in New Jersey before a driver is allowed to be unrestricted.Learn more about Driving Laws
State driving laws require teens to be anywhere from 14 to 16 to obtain a learner's permit and between 16 and 18 to obtain a full driver's license, according the Governors Highway Safety Association. Over time, state laws lift restrictions on driving until new drivers are fully licensed.Full Answer >
The Department of Transportation issues extensive regulations through administration agencies to ensure the U.S. transportation system is safe, secure and efficient, according to the DOT. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration issues specific regulations for commercial driver's licenses, hours of service and motor carrier and bus safety, operations and equipment.Full Answer >
It is not illegal for a person to drive with a cast on his or her foot; however, experts advise against it because of slower response times when moving from the accelerator to the brake or when engaging the clutch in a vehicle with a manual transmission, according to the University of Wisconsin. Medical doctors advise patients with foot casts to avoid driving until the cast is removed, according to Gunderson Health.Full Answer >
Drivers are allowed to pass to the left if there is a broken line on the side of the driver who wants to turn left. Drivers can turn left into a left turn center lane, but such turn lanes are only cleared for a limited driving distance of 200 feet.Full Answer >