Q:

How old do you have to be to drive a jet ski?

A:

Quick Answer

The age a person must be to legally operate a jet ski varies. Every state in America establishes its own set of rules and regulations regarding this topic.

Know More
How old do you have to be to drive a jet ski?
Credit: Digital Vision. Digital Vision Getty Images

Full Answer

For example, in Washington, a person must be at least 12 years old to legally operate a jet ski. In the state of New Jersey, that age is 16. In Ohio, children under the age of 12 are never permitted to drive a jet ski; however, children between the ages of 12 and 15 can legally operate a jet ski with a passenger who is 18 or above. Children age 16 and over can legally operate a jet ski on their own in Ohio.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the federal laws regarding employment for teenagers?

    A:

    The federal laws for teenage employment limit the types of jobs available and the number of hours that they can work based on the age of the child, says the U.S. Department of Labor. Generally, the restrictions decrease as the child gets older.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the minimum legal age to leave home?

    A:

    According to Nolo, the minimum legal age to leave home is 16 in most states; legally leaving home before age 18 is called emancipation. Emancipation frees parents from their financial obligations to support the minor. Minors are free from any obligation to remain physically with their parents. Generally, there are three ways to get emancipated: marriage, joining the military or petitioning a court.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the age of emancipation of a minor in Indiana?

    A:

    A minor can be emancipated in Indiana at age 19. The child can also be emancipated if he joins the military or gets married. If the minor is no longer under the control of the parent or other court-approved guardian, then he can also be emancipated.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can a 12-year-old get a job?

    A:

    Federal law restricts children under the age of 14 from working in non-agricultural occupations covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. States sometimes impose additional child labor restrictions.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore