Q:

How old do you have to be to rent a house?

A:

The legal age to enter into any contract in the United States is 18, according to Nolo. Because a lease is considered a legal contract, a tenant must be at least 18 to rent a house.

In some cases, a landlord may require a co-signer if the renter is under a certain age. A co-signer or guarantor is typically a parent or trusted relative or friend who guarantees the lease of the home in case the renter fails to pay his or her rent. If the renter is under the age of 18, a guarantor is typically required, since the potential tenant most likely does not have an established credit history. According to U.S. News, it is crucial that a co-signer understands that if the tenant is not able to pay the rent, then he or she will be responsible for the expenses.

Learn More

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What part-time jobs can 11-year-olds get?

    A:

    An 11-year-old can work as a newspaper delivery person or a babysitter and can complete minor chores in a private residence, according to the United States Department of Labor. Kids who are 11 years old can also work as performers in radio, television, movie or theatrical shows.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Will an expired ID scan at a bar?

    A:

    Used properly, ID scanning technology will catch both fake and expired ID documents. Good judgment and common sense on the part of the person scanning also helps to ensure that customers do not enter a bar with expired ID.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    At what age can a child decide where to live?

    A:

    When it comes to children and custodial issues before family court there is no "magical age," says family law attorney Jeanne M. Hannah. As far as the courts are concerned, children are defined as legal incompetents who don't have the ability to make sound legal choices. The court does, however, take into account any statements children make in regard to living preferences.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the legal age to serve alcohol in Florida?

    A:

    The legal age to serve alcohol in Florida is 18 as of 2013, according to sociology professor David J. Hanson. The District of Columbia and 37 states allow adults 18 and older to serve alcohol in restaurants and bars.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore