Q:

How old do you have to be to ride a go cart?

A:

Quick Answer

Minimum age requirements vary by state and ownership of the land where the go kart is being used. On public property, use of go karts is regulated under the off-highway vehicle classification.

  Know More

Full Answer

In California, for example, there is no minimum age requirement for drivers of off-highway vehicles such as go karts. According to the California State Parks, riders must be able to safely reach and operate all controls of the vehicle. Though there is no age requirement, parents can be held legally responsible for their children under the age of 14. According to the Florida Forest Service, all children under the age of 16 must be under direct adult supervision when operating a go kart on public lands.

Learn more about Legal Ages

Related Questions

  • Q:

    At what ages are children required to use a booster seat?

    A:

    The required age for children to use a booster seat in a car varies by state, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association. Booster seat requirements are generally based on age as well as weight and height, although some states have laws based on just one of these variables.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to divorce your parents?

    A:

    Laws pertaining to child emancipation differ from state to state, reports Cornell University Law School. Cases involving the emancipation of a minor often involve child-stars and minors who live on their own, are demonstrably self-sufficient, among other traits, and whose parents wish to cease paying support.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is there an age limit for jury duty?

    A:

    There is no upper age limit for jurors at the state or federal level; courts only require that jurors be 18 years of age or older. However, some courts may exclude persons 70 years of age and older from the selection process.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to get married?

    A:

    According to FindLaw.com, the age for a legal marriage varies by state. As of 2014, every state views legal consent within the ages of 16 to 18. The majority of states recognize 16 as the legal marriage age, while a few hold to 17 or 18 as the legal age.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore