According to the Texas Workforce Commission, all workers need to be at over the age of 14 to legally work in Texas. However, Texas Child Labor Laws include all workers under the age of 18.
Certain situations exclude children from working age laws in Texas. Parents and guardians who own their own business can let their children work in the business at any age as long as the work does not endanger the children. Children aged 11 or older can also legally work a paper route provided it does not include direct sales. Children under the age of 16 can legally work a maximum of 48 hours a week, according to the U.S. Department of Labor.Learn More
Each rental car company sets its own minimum age requirement, but 21 years old is common for renting a car in Texas and other states. Drivers who are under 25 years old may be required to pay additional fees.Full Answer >
According to the City of Austin, the drinking age in Texas is 21. Before buying alcohol in a store, bar or restaurant, customers are often asked to show photo ID with proof of age.Full Answer >
As of 2015, the minimum age to obtain a fishing license in Texas is 17, according to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. Youth residents and non-residents under 17 are allowed to fish without a license.Full Answer >
According to the Department of Labor, legal age of employment varies depending on the type of job and the hours worked. The Fair Labor Standards Act sets the minimum age of employment for most non-agricultural jobs at 14. States set their own labor laws, which may differ from national regulations.Full Answer >