Q:

What is the penalty for driving with an expired registration?

A:

In the United States it is either a misdemeanor or an infraction to drive with an expired car registration, according to FindLaw. In most states, the penalty is a traffic ticket and some license points.

The penalty for driving with an expired registration may increase depending on how long the registration has been expired, states FindLaw. In certain states, such as Michigan, it is legal to drive an unregistered used car immediately after purchase, as long as the car is being taken directly to the place of storage and it is within three days of the sale. Many states offer a 5- to 30-day grace period in which there is no penalty beyond an official warning for driving on an expired registration, according to DMV.org.


Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

  • Q:

    Is a DUI a misdemeanor?

    A:

    A DUI, or driving under the influence, is typically defined as a misdemeanor, as described by DUIFoundation.org. However, there are circumstances that can justify raising the level of the offense to a felony. Those circumstances are dependent on the state and their standards for defining DUI’s.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Do parking tickets go on your driving record?

    A:

    Since parking tickets are typically obtained while the driver of the car was away from the car, they are associated with the car registration and not with an individual driving record. When searching for information regarding parking tickets, the ticket number is entered instead of the drivers license number.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class U misdemeanor?

    A:

    According to USLegal, a class U misdemeanor is an unclassified misdemeanor. An unclassified misdemeanor is one that does not specify to any Class A, B or C misdemeanor. Unclassified misdemeanors vary by state, and the penalty is never very high.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the penalty for an expired car tag in Oklahoma?

    A:

    The penalties for delinquent registration renewal in Oklahoma start accruing one month following expiration by adding $1 per day to the registration fee, up to a maximum of $100, and a back year of registration fees are required if the delinquency lasts more than one year, according to the Oklahoma Tax Commission. Fees vary based upon the classification of the vehicle.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore