The bare minimum penalty for driving a vehicle without proof of insurance or proof of financial responsibility is a fine of $100 to $200. This, however, is up to a judge's discretion.Know More
Many states have been ramping up the penalties for driver's not obtaining the proper insurance for their vehicles. California, in particular, is one of the least tolerant of states on this issue. Once a driver receives a ticket for not having proof of insurance, they must pay a financial penalty of at least $100 for the first offense, and $200 to $500 for any subsequent offense within the following 3 years. This does not include court costs imposed by the judge, which can also total hundreds of dollars.
Some states allow a driver to bring evidence that they had insurance at the time of the ticket and will waive any penalties. California will assess at least some financial penalty in these circumstances, reasoning that keeping these documents in the vehicle is part of the driver's responsibility under the law.
Additionally, a judge has the power to impound the vehicle and revoke driving privileges. In this instance, the vehicle is only retrievable after the individual pays all towing and impounding fees on top of providing insurance. Reinstating driving privileges varies depending on the judge's orders and can impact out-of-state drivers also.Learn more in Driving Laws
In Georgia, a "Super Speeder" fine for going 75 mph or more on a 2-lane road, or 85 mph or more on any road or highway adds a $200 fine to the original speeding ticket, states DMV.org. Fines for speeding tickets in Georgia can vary based on violations, notes DMV.orgFull Answer >
If you get caught speeding in a construction zone, in most states, the fine is double the fine for the speeding offense had it not occurred in a construction zone. In some states, a predetermined dollar amount is applied to a construction-zone speeding ticket. In others, jail time may be required.Full Answer >
After someone has been issued a speeding ticket, he can either hire a lawyer to help fight the charge, or plead guilty, pay a fine and be done with it. However, depending on the speed and how many other traffic infractions are on a person's record, a ticket could have serious ramifications.Full Answer >
Though handicap parking laws vary from state to state, contesting a handicap parking ticket usually involves notifying the city clerk's office of a plea of not guilty or entering a request for a court hearing on or before the date the fine is due and pleading the case in front of a judge. Penalties for parking tickets also vary greatly by state. Some states impose only a minor fine while others impose jail time penalties as well. For this reason, knowing the prospective penalty for a handicap parking violation is crucial when deciding whether to fight the ticket in court.Full Answer >