What are the president's advisors called?
Credit: Getty Images Getty Images News Getty Images

What are the president's advisors called?


Quick Answer

The President's advisors are known as the Cabinet. The role of the Cabinet is to advise the president on subjects related to the duties of each member's office.

  Know More

Full Answer

The President's Cabinet is established in Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution. The Cabinet includes the Vice President as well as the heads of 15 executive departments. These departments include: Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans' Affairs, plus the Attorney General. The order of succession under the President is the Vice President, followed by the Department of State, Department of the Treasury, Department of Defense, Department of Justice, Department of the Interior, Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Labor, Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Department of Transportation, Department of Energy, Department of Education, Department of Veterans Affairs and finally the Department of Homeland Security.

Learn more about Branches of Government

Related Questions