To prove a mother is unfit in Texas, individuals must provide evidence and documentation of abuse, neglect, family violence or environmental conditions that are not in the best interest of the child, according to Texas Family Law. Texas Family Codes were established to ensure each child's emotional and physical health.Know More
Individuals who suspect a mother is unfit can file a claim with the courts and obtain a restraining order until judicial judgments have been made, according to Texas Family Law. It is recommended that the child or children involved in the case be evaluated by a family therapist or counselor to evaluate abuse or neglect.
When determining where to place a child in custody, Texas Family Law stipulates that credible evidence must show a history or pattern of present or past child neglect, physical or sexual abuse to determine if a parent is unfit. If family violence or sexual abuse is proven through testimony from witnesses, counselors or police and health records, the court can restrict, deny or limit possession of a child by a parent deemed unfit.
Even if a mother is deemed unfit, the court may still allow the child access to the parent if the child's physical health or emotional welfare is not in danger; however, the visitation may be supervised as ordered by the court, according to Texas Family Law.Learn more about Child Support & Custody
Child custody laws for unmarried parents in North Carolina do not automatically recognize equal standing for a mother and father until paternity is legally established, says Sodoma Law. Unlike with married couples, a father in North Carolina has no legal custody rights even if his name appears on a birth certificate.Full Answer >
Non-custodial parents in the state of Texas may be obligated to monthly, court-ordered payments. The amount of support is dependent on the income of the parent and number of children under 18 in the order, minus any deductions for medical support paid.Full Answer >
Texas law deems child custody as a conservatorship, which means a parent is referred to as a conservator instead of a custodian, according to FindLaw. Texas law stipulates that a judge must determine the terms of a conservatorship unless both parents agree on a custody plan in writing.Full Answer >
Texas guidelines state that a noncustodial parent should pay 20 percent of net income for a single child. This calculation is for parents earning less than $7,500 per month.Full Answer >