The punishment for the first-degree misdemeanor of aggravated menacing in Ohio is up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1000, according to Nolo. Under special circumstances, the crime can be a fourth- or fifth-degree felony. In those cases, the punishment is more severe.
If the victim of aggravated menacing is either an officer or a children service agency employee engaged in job duties, aggravated menacing is a fifth-degree felony, according to the Ohio Revised Code. This is punishable by a sentence of 6 to 12 months in prison and a fine of up to $2500, according to Nolo. If the offender commits aggravated menacing in these special circumstances and has previously been convicted of or pleaded guilty to an violent offense, the crime is a fourth-degree felony, according to the ORC. This is punishable by a sentence of 6 to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $5000, according to Nolo.Learn More
According to GeorgiaLegalAid.org, a person who violates the terms of probation in Georgia is required to attend a court hearing where a judge determines whether or not the conditions of the probation were violated. If it is determined in the hearing that the probation was violated, the court can revoke probation or sentence the person to an alternative punishment.Full Answer >
Ponzi schemes are financial schemes whereby the fraudulent party uses new investment capital to pay off older investors, thus making it appear that the investment is paid off when the fraudulent party only assumed new debt. The term originated in connection to a 1920's scheme developed by Charles Ponzi, in which he lured many New England investors into false postage stamp speculation.Full Answer >
Although there are minor variations from state to state, criminal mischief in the third degree is the least serious criminal offense related to property damage. The severity of the crime increases based on the cost incurred. For example, in New York State, property damage exceeding $250 is defined as criminal mischief in the third degree, while damage exceeding $1,500 is defined as a second degree crime.Full Answer >
A person who forces another person to have sexual contact with a third party has committed gross sexual imposition. In the state of Ohio, gross sexual imposition is a third or fourth degree felony charge, depending on the circumstances.Full Answer >