As of 2014, the punishment for burglary of a habitation in Texas is a sentence of two to 20 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000, according to FindLaw. Burglary of a habitation is a felony of the second degree, the most serious classification of burglary.Know More
Burglary is the unauthorized entry into private property with the intent to commit a felony, theft or assault, according to FindLaw.
The Texas penal code specifies four levels of burglary. In addition to the burglary of a habitation, the offense can also be committed in a building that is not a habitation. Burglary of a vending machine and an automobile also classify as offenses. Each of these crimes carry a less severe penalty than burglary of a habitation.Learn more about Crime
A Class 4 felony in Illinois is any felony that can be punished by at least one year in state prison but no more than three. It is the lowest level of felony in the state.Full Answer >
Aggravated burglary is entering someone's house to steal something with the intent to commit another crime or while using or carrying a weapon. Not all states make a distinction between burglary and aggravated burglary. Some states allow for more serious punishment for burglaries committed with aggravating circumstances.Full Answer >
According to Lawyers.com, sentencing for aiding and abetting includes probation, fines or prison time. Yahoo! Voices mentions that prison sentencing is up to 15 years. The sentence for aiding and abetting depends on the state. A person who aids and abets stands to be sentenced with the same punishment as the actual perpetrator under federal law, and many states follow the same guideline. Other states consider it a lesser offense.Full Answer >
The punishment for the first-degree misdemeanor of aggravated menacing in Ohio is up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1000, according to Nolo. Under special circumstances, the crime can be a fourth- or fifth-degree felony. In those cases, the punishment is more severe.Full Answer >