Q:

Is a seat belt ticket a moving violation?

A:

Quick Answer

A seat belt ticket is not a moving violation in most states; however, child safety restraint laws are closely related to seat belt laws, reports DrivingLaws.org. New York is an example of a state in which a seat belt ticket can be both a moving and a non-moving violation.

  Know More
Is a seat belt ticket a moving violation?
Credit: Lightshape E+ Getty Images

Full Answer

According to Drivinglaws.org, a total of 31 states recognize seat belt laws as primary laws, which means an officer can pull a motorist over just for not wearing one. There are 18 states that recognize seat belt laws as secondary laws, which means a motorist must be pulled over for another violation prior to being issued a seat belt ticket. The remaining state, New Hampshire, stands alone as the only state that has no mandatory seat belt requirement.

Learn more about Driving Laws
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are some common California driving fines?

    A:

    The most common California driving fines are for speeding and red light camera tickets, and fines overall can range from $148 to $1,876 depending on the violation, as of 2015, according to California Traffic Tickets. Infractions range from texting on a wireless device to repeated unauthorized use of disabled parking.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a moving traffic violation?

    A:

    A moving traffic violation is any violation of driving laws that occurs while a vehicle is in motion, according to USLegal. Moving violations vary considerably by jurisdiction. Common moving violations include drunk driving, failure to stop at a traffic light or stop sign, speeding, failure to yield to a vehicle that has the right of way and reckless driving. Parking, equipment and paperwork violations do not fall into this category.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the penalty for disobeying traffic control devices?

    A:

    Disobeying a traffic control device is considered a moving violation, and, depending on the state's law and the severity of the violation, penalties often include points on a driver's license, a fine or a surcharge. In New York, the penalty is 2 points and a $235 fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the penalties for driving without a license?

    A:

    In most states, the penalties for driving without a license include a misdemeanor charge punishable with community service, fines ranging from $100 to $5,000 or possibly serving jail time, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures. The severity of the charge depends highly on the circumstances surrounding the offense.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore