Which states regulate tattoo facilities?
Credit:Romona Robbins PhotographyImage SourceGetty Images
Q:

Which states regulate tattoo facilities?

A:

Quick Answer

All 50 states regulate tattoo facilities in some way, but each state has different rules, according to the American Academy of Miropigmentation. As of September 2014, New Jersey and Maine require AAM certification. As of May 2013, 45 states prohibit or limit the tattooing of minors under the age of 18 at tattoo facilities, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures

 Know More

Full Answer

New Mexico requires a tattoo establishment to be supervised by a board-licensed tattoo artist as of September 2014, and facilities must pay a license fee. New York's Department of Health obligates tattoo artists be licensed in whatever studio they work. Tattooists in New York must wash their hands, wear clean gloves, wash the skin of the person getting the tattoo, utilize single-use needles and ink cartridges, and cover the new tattoo with a bandage.

With regard to tattooing minors at facilities, many states require the written consent of parents before a minor gets a tattoo. Other states, such as California and New York, make it a misdemeanor to tattoo anyone under 18 regardless of parental permission, according to the NCSL. In Arizona, it is a felony to administer a tattoo to anyone under 18 without written consent. In Idaho, children as young as 14 can get tattoos with written parental consent. New Hampshire requires tattoo parlors to keep these written records on file for at least seven years, and Kansas requires written consent to be kept on file for five years.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What was Webster v. Reproductive Health Services about?

    A:

    The U.S. Supreme Court case Webster v. Reproductive Health Services challenged Missouri's abortion law that stipulated public facilities could not be used to perform non-life-threatening abortions, state-supported counseling in favor of abortions was illegal and physicians had to perform fetus viability tests on women beyond their 20th week of pregnancy, according to the Chicago-Kent College of Law. The Supreme Court upheld every portion of the Missouri law.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the accreditation of correctional facilities?

    A:

    The accreditation of correctional facilities is a set of standards that represent fundamental correctional practices in several different areas, says the American Correctional Association. The Standards and Accreditation Department of the ACA develops and monitors these standards, facilitates the accreditation process and offers training and resources to implement leading correctional practices.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How old do you have to be to sit in the front of the car?

    A:

    The American Academy of Pediatrics states that children should ride in the rear seat of a car until they are 13 years old. Around 25 percent of children between the ages of 10 and 13 sit in the front seat rather than in the rear seat, according to researchers.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the definition of a regulatory framework?

    A:

    A regulatory framework can have varying meanings, but it commonly pertains to tax information, necessary regulations and other important information, like relevant rules, laws and regulatory bodies. Regulatory frameworks are important tools for businesses that are about to launch because these frameworks outline the measures of burden new businesses must be aware of when they begin to establish their enterprises..

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore