Pure grain alcohol can be purchased in a majority of states. The states that prohibit the sale of grain alcohol include California, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia, according to The Washington Post and The Badger Herald.Know More
In states where the sale of pure grain alcohol has not been explicitly prohibited by state law, such sales are legal. Many states ban the sale of pure grain alcohol to protect college students from alcohol-related illness and fatality, explains The Baltimore Sun. Recent years have seen an increase in the number of states banning the sale of pure grain alcohol for these protectionist reasons.
States that do not sell pure grain alcohol of 190 proof, which is 95 percent alcohol, do allow sales of grain alcohol at lesser proofs. For example, The Daily Iowan notes that Iowa allows grain alcohol sales of 151 proof that is 75.5 percent alcohol.
Other than recreational drinking, pure grain alcohol is used by herbalists to make tinctures, or concentrated herbal extracts, according to Mountain Rose Herbs. The high percentage of alcohol allows extraction of constituents from a plant that would normally be insoluble.Learn more about Law
In 1970, the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO) was enacted to provide criminal penalties for individuals who have connections to an organization that influences interstate trade and who are known for racketeering activity, states the United States Justice Department. It is used to prosecute members of organized crime.Full Answer >
Federal law covers most cases of buyer's remorse in all 50 states, including solicited sales, timeshares and homeowner loans, while some states have laws to protect rueful consumers with certain contracts, such as gym memberships, and can extend the federal cooling-off period, according to the AARP. Buyer's remorse laws do not apply to automobile purchases.Full Answer >
Most states do not specify a minimum age for babysitting, and most do not have laws regarding babysitting. However, states offer guidelines and recommend that a babysitter be at least 13 years of age, according to Babysitting-Rates.com.Full Answer >
Article IV, Section II, Clause 2 of the U.S. Constitution requires all states to take part in extradition proceedings, according to David J. Shestokas. The U.S. Supreme Court has also ruled that federal courts have the authority to order surrender of a wanted individual to a state if the state holding the individual chooses not to surrender the individual.Full Answer >